Twitter Love

Some people are lukewarm about Twitter (or just plain cold) and others are ambivalent. For me, it’s always been an outstanding resource for information consumption. And I love it. This is how I get the most out of Twitter:

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 8.09.28 PM

my profile is now down to 1,300+ sources that I follow.

ideally, the number should be around 1,000.

I follow solely quality sources (who tend to tweet 1 – 5x daily)

3 bad tweets (meal, shoes, politics, tv shows) and you’re unfollowed

a 10-minute investment in Twitter (bathroom, line, in-laws’ house) provides me a good 1-2 hour in “backtweets”

I never feel the need to ‘catch up’ – it’s like radio. what’s on is on

I figured out my personal interests and placed an emphasis on:
  • Sports
  • Local News
  • Food
  • Dodgers
  • Journalism
  • Politics – left and right
  • Los Angeles
  • Food writing
  • Media Analysis
  • Breaking News
  • Spanish language
I follow VERY few celebrities – namely Bo Jackson, Magic Johnson, Brett Hundley, Kobe Bryant; L.A. oriented people that don’t send subpar tweets. Generally it’s a horrible idea to follow celebrities – or friends – because they waste both yours and their time with their tweets. This is the NUMBER ONE REASON WHY PEOPLE LEAVE TWITTER.
You will note redundancy on my timeline. it’s not annoying or discouraging; the nature of the beast is multiple people talking about the same thing.
That said, I’m pretty good at sourcing people that stay within their realm of expertise, which means you won’t see my athletes talking about Obama or my politicians talking about Clayton Kershaw.
Sometimes, though – in cases like the Emmys or the finale of a Netflix serial – everybody chimes in. Those are the days I just stay off Twitter.
 twitter
I’m on Twitter for INFORMATION, hoping to find a trove of legitimate and interesting linkouts or tidbits.
As I develop further interests or seasonality approaches
  • Fatherhood
  • UCLA football
  • Water Conservation

I add a few dozen sources and pare down based on quality.

Again, I’m a big proselytizer for Twitter because I find it the absolute BEST universal source for both quick-hit and long-form linkout news and information. I’m not a consumer of entertainment, but I am definitely a consumer of ongoings, especially when tailored to my personal interest.

 

Leave a Reply

