Loney Ready to Hit for Power?

. . .apparently so, according to Dylan Hernandez of the L.A. Times.

Reporting to camp looking leaner but more muscular, Loney said he is under the 215 pounds he weighed in past springs. “I feel stronger,” he said. “It’s the strongest I’ve ever felt. I think I lost some of the baby fat just by getting older.”

I’ve always felt that Loney has one of the most beautiful swings in the game; I remember when he was called up in 2006 and attending games just falling in love with that smooth stroke, balance and follow-through. More impressively, he hit the ball hard – I’m talking cannonshot line drives – every time he made contact. No loft, though, and they always said “the power will come.” Well, he will be 26 years old this year and it’s about time for him to start hitting the long ball. For my sake and that of my childhood, it’s appropriate that he should learn from one of the sweetest swinging lefties in a generation, Don Mattingly.
https://i2.wp.com/www.feelingdodgerblue.com/img/James%20Loney.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/product.images.fansedge.com/45-02/45-02993-F.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

